Record label

ELive Music record label publishes Albums for own bands.

ELive Music has published:

Soul What? Feat. Joonatan Rautio
What Lies Ahead (2016) ELiveCD 002

The second album of this super-energetic and virtuosic Finnish soul/jazz quintet. This studio album is a modern jazz album, crossing characters of funk, jazz and soul music with intensive energy, shrilling improvisations and soulful vocals. The album contains five instrumental tracks and three vocal tracks.

”What Lies Ahead” was recorded between April and May 2016. Drums, saxophone, grand piano and most of all vocal and wurlitzer tracks were recorded live on an two day session at Midas Studios in Raippaluoto, Finland. The bass- and guitar tracks along with some vocal- and wurlitzer tracks were recorded at ELive Music Studios in Kälviä, Finland.

1. What Lies Ahead 7:56
2. Live Life Now  6:11 (Mikael Svarvar – vocals)
3. Fredag 5:35
4. Kindness 6:59 (Mikael Svarvar – vocals)
5. A Symbiosis 6:47
6. My Mama’s Advice 2:50 (Mikael Svarvar – vocals)
7. The Traveller 6:54
8. A New Dawn 6:19

Tracks 1,3,5,7 & 8 instrumental tracks

Soul What? Feat. Joonatan Rautio
Eevalotta Matikainen – bass
Mikael Svarvar – vocals, wurlitzer, grand piano
Martin Söderbacka – guitar
Toni Porthén – drums
Joonatan Rautio – tenor saxophone

Mixed by Miikka Huttunen, Neomusic at Sonic Pump Studios
Mastered by Svante Forsbäck, Chartmakers
Produced by Eevalotta Matikainen, ELive Music
Cover artwork by Triin Aimla-Laid

Music and lyrics written by Eevalotta Matikainen & Martin Söderbacka at ELive Music (except track 3 written by Mikael Svarvar)

Soul What?
The Silver Lining (2013) ELive CD001

The Silver Lining is the debut album by Soul What?. All tracks on this album are original pieces by Soul What? and the album was recorded in 2011-2013. Most of the songs on this album started from bass riffs, bass rhythms and lines that inspired lyrics and melodies written in collaboration by Matikainen, Söderbacka and Hertteli. The music is filled with sweet guitar harmonies played by Martin Söderbacka, innovative drumming by Toni Porthén, soulful lines by singer and keyboard player Mikael Svarvar, sensitive and dreamy vocals by Riikka Elisabet Hertteli and groovy bass playing by Eevalotta Matikainen. The second vocal solist on this album is the talented soul- and gospel artist Mikael Svarvar. This album features two vocal duets with Mikael Svarvar and Riikka Elisabet Hertteli on tracks 6 and 11. Guest musicians on this album are Mika Mylläri on trumpet and Estonian saxophone player Siim Aimla.

1. Difficult Times 4:18
2. City LIghts 5:09
3. Keep On 3:18
4. People 4:43
5. I Forgive You 5:36
6. Guardian Angel 6:01
7. The Silver Lining 6:12 (instrumental)
8. Keep Us Safe 4:35
9. Beautiful Day 4:16
10. You’ve Got Soul 4:47
11. I’ll Stay 6:17

Soul What?
Eevalotta Matikainen – bass
Toni Porthén – drums and percussions
Martin Söderbacka – guitar, backing vocals
Mikael Svarvar – lead vocal, backing vocal, rhodes, wurlitzer and hammond organs
Riikka Elisabet Hertteli – lead vocal

Siim Aimla – saxophone (on tracks 4,5,8,10)
Mika Mylläri – trumpet (on track 7,10)

Mixed by Miikka Huttunen, Neomusic at Sonic Pump Studios
Mastered by Svante Forsbäck, Chartmakers
Cover artwork by Triin Aimla-Laid
Produced by Eevalotta Matikainen, ELive Music

Music and lyrics written by Eevalotta Matikainen, Martin Söderbacka and Riikka Elisabet Hertteli (except track 1 and 11 written by Riikka Elisabet Hertteli, track 7 written by Eevalotta Matikainen & Martin Söderbacka)

All songs arranged by Soul What?