SM4, aka Söderbacka-Matikainen Quartet, featuring David Lyttle (UK) and Joonatan Rautio is a brand new lineup that debuts this fall. The music by SM4 can be described as melodic jazz with modern flavours that sets a playground for the musicians to create rhythmic and harmonic adventures. The music for SM4 is mainly written by guitarist Martin Söderbacka and basist Eevalotta Matikainen. Together with drummer David Lyttle from Northern Ireland and one of Finlands foremost jazz musicians and saxophone virtuoso, Joonatan Rautio, they offer an evening filled with jazz, beautiful music and joyful moments.

 TOUR September 2019

 24.9 Kokkola, Kahvila Kulma 16:30

 25.9 Kajaani, Kouta-sali 19:00

 26.9 Pietarsaari, Jazzoo, Black Sheep 21:00

 27.9 Kristiinankaupunki, KRS Jazz, Jungman 19:00

 28.9 Vaasa, Doo-Bop Club 20:00

Martin Söderbacka – guitar
Eevalotta Matikainen – bass
David Lyttle (UK) – drums
Joonatan Rautio – saxophone

David Lyttle (UK) is one of Northern Irelands foremost jazz musicians. Lyttle has played in more than 25 different countries and has collaborated with musicians such as Kurt Rosenwinkel, Dave Liebman, Seamus Blake, Joe Lovano, Jesse Van Ruller, Jonathan Kreisberg, Terell Stafford, Pino Palladino, Kenny Werner and Liane Carrol. He as also received nominations for MOBO Awards and Urban Music Awards. David studied music at Skidmore Jazz Institute (New York), the Banff Centre (Canada) and at the University of Ulster from which he graduated as doctor of music in 2009. His work is described by Rolling Stone magazine as ”one of the best, robust listening experiences you’re likely to have all year” and by website All about jazz as ”…one of the world’s great contemporary drummers.”

The tenor saxophonist Joonatan Rautio is well known for his virtuosity and his soloistic strength and vitality. His musical background is firmly rooted in the jazz tradition. Joonatan Rautio makes a strong statement, both rhythmically and harmonically. He has performed with many top Finnish and International musical artists, including Jim Beard, Randy Brecker, Adam Nussbaum, Jeff ”Tain” Watts, Jon Balke, Mike Stern, Chris Minh Doky, Jukkis Uotila, Lars Danielsson, Anders Jormin, Ron McClure, Peter Erskine, Jesse Van Ruller and Finland’s UMO Jazz Orchestra. He has also led many of his own ensembles, most currently his own trio and electric jazz fusion group, Nassaun Fasaani. Joonatan Rautio was granted the Yrjö award in 2010 by the Finnish Jazz Federation. It is considered as being the highest accolade in Finnish jazz. He also was received the Finnish Saxophone Society’s Josef Kaartinen award in 1999. In the year 2000, he won the Pekka Pöyry prize, and the next year he was named Pori Jazz Artist of the Year for 2001. 

Martin Söderbacka and Eevalotta Matikainen started collaborating in 2010 and formed Söderbacka-Matikainen Duo. They have since then performed together with some of Finlands foremost musicians such as Joonatan Rautio, Jukka Perko, Teemu Viinikainen, Jesse Kaikuranta, Mikko Pettinen, Sid Hille, Toni Porthén, Mikael Svarvar and Estonian sax player Siim Aimla. Söderbacka and Matikainen have also produced concert series and events such as #musikmittivardagen and #elivejazzhappening. Martin and Eevalotta also co-lead the energetic soul/jazz quintet ”Soul What? feat. Joonatan Rautio”.

Share This